And then there was Santorini…

It has been way too long since I’ve blogged last. It’s nearly impossible for me to grasp that the end of the semester is coming near so I’m spending even more time appreciating where I am and less time sitting on my computer. SO MUCH has been going on! School, island life, people, work… It’s overwhelming and exciting. I can’t even talk about actually leaving Paros or this blog will turn into my recent slew of poems. And no one wants to cry right now.

In school we have been focusing in on our final exhibition! At the end of next week we have our poetry reading and the following night is the art exhibition. I have a huge amount of work left to do in all of my classes, on my writing, and finishing touches on my paintings. But it’s so exciting and I can’t wait to see all of the work the other students have created throughout our semester here. They are ridiculously talented people and I have a feeling it’s going to be mind-blowing. The piece I chose to read is a longer monologue that I’ve worked on here and there through the semester and is close to my heart. Nerve-wracking, yes. But I can’t wait to share it with everyone and give it a voice. One week!!

Peek at my self-portrait…

Backtracking now to Santorini! We took a weekend trip to the island of Santorini (about a 3 hour ferry ride from Paros) and it was… INCREDIBLE. I didn’t think another island could ever compare to Paros, but wow. It was really the most breathtaking place I have ever been. It is the idea of a Greek island that everyone searches for and that’s why it’s no wonder it’s the most touristy of all the islands.

Pulling into Santorini was unlike any of the other islands we had been to. It was once a volcano so everything is up on the top of a cliff and you have to drive windy roads (or donkeys!) to get up to the top. It also makes the entire island have a beautiful view no matter where you are standing.

Our first night, we took a tour of the island and ate gelato at sunset. In awe, always.

Meanwhile… back at our hotel we met a greek family in the common area who were celebrating a birthday. We got to listen to them all sing in Greek and drink and eat and like all of the generous Greek people here, they welcomed us without hesitation!

The next day was a free day to do whatever we chose. There were many different options but Molly and I decided to venture off on our own and see Santorini in a different way… ATV style! On a whim, we walked past a rental place and just said, let’s do this! We had to sign waivers in Greek (hopefully we didn’t sign away anything of importance) and had the greatest time. I drove which was thrilling because the streets are windy and steep but that didn’t stop me from flooring it. Molly and I had our ipods on and we were singing loudly to all the people driving by who waved as we drove all the way along the sea to Oia.

Oia is a little town filled with crafty things and endless tavernas and cafes. A perfect day!

That night we headed out to explore the town. The bars are always such a great time here in Greece no matter what island we’re on.

The restaurant we went to was the BEST food I’ve eaten since being in Greece hands down. We took a leap of faith by choosing it, but we knew it had to be good because it was packed! I had lemon chicken, and Molly got a Greek classic- Moussaka. It’s like a Greek version of lasagna. DELICIOUS and everyone was so welcoming and friendly. Complimentary wine, selection of fresh breads, and dessert! I love Greeks. πŸ™‚

The following day was spent walking around the main town we were staying in and shopping, shopping, shopping! I think it’s safe to say that everything we saw we bought that day. It’s hard to resist when everything is so white and beautiful. (Note the shirts below!)

All shirts and dresses are handmade in Santorini so after trying on a bunch of them we made our pick and went on in search of some donkeys!

At last!! I was the absolute most excited for donkey riding on this trip. Last time I attempted to ride a donkey in Naxos I ended up falling off when we tried to fit Erin on to the back and the donkey was NOT having it. (I think I may still have bruised ribs to prove it if anyone doesn’t believe me… just saying!)

THE BEST EXPERIENCE EVER!

After riding the donkeys down the cliff we took a cable car back up to the top and had lunch with what I would describe as the best view in the entire world.

The trip to Santorini left me walking on air. It is the closest I’ve been to seeing perfection. This world is amazing.

Back on Paros I feel more comfortable then I’ve ever felt. I love everything about it and I’ve been going through so much lately about leaving versus staying and who knows for sure what I’ll decide. All I know is that I will absolutely come back. These past months have changed me in infinite ways… but I’m not ready to start wrapping it up just yet. As I said before… no one wants to cry right now.

xxx Hannah

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Santorini. Heaven on earth and perfection.

  2. I go to Santorini nearly every summer and it’s always the same breathtaking place … the best in Greece/ my opinion :)/

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      Every summer?! I am so envious. There is something about Santorini that is just perfection. No other way to describe it. I’m glad to find someone who loves it as much as I do πŸ™‚

  3. callmekingmoney says:

    Hey Hannah,
    Nice travel pics in Greece–very artistic.
    Best,
    Richard

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      Thank you πŸ™‚ I try!

Leave a Reply

