Solitude Under the Mediterranean Sun

Acropolis of Athens

Finally feeling at home in my new apartment…Everything is perfect. Reuniting with familiar faces is the best feeling. My airport driver recognized me from the last time he picked me up in March and we laughed about how wonderful it is that there are people in Greece who I am now a familiar face to as well. Who would’ve thought? He told me he wished I had been in Athens a month prior so he could have had more time to introduce me to one of his many, many Greek family members and not only could I be a part of his family (and live on one of the floors of the building that his family, his mother, and his cousins separately occupy: typical greeks!), but also so that I could have an “easy in” to the Greek lifestyle that I dream of one day making permanent. We talked about all that had changed in Greece during the few months I had been gone, and although I hate to admit: it is true, things do go on without me and I spent the remainder of the drive to my hostel scrolling through pictures of his 2 week old newborn while he swerved through Athens afternoon traffic, nodding excitedly every time he pointed to a taverna or ancient site asking “remember this?!” Every bit of it. As much as I’d love to be a part of his family he so clearly has much love for, it was evident to both of us that I already was lost in an affair that I would not soon come out of. Greece was my first love. I wake up every morning, open the balcony doors and sit at my table eating fresh fruit picked up the day before at the open air market with a scoop of yogurt, cool and rich, smiling at no one but the Aegean. The last time I went into my semester here I said to myself that if I could do it all over, I would experience this island on my own. Spend more time on my work, and in solitude. This time around I am doing just that. I am once again beginning the same journey yet already feeling a different connection to my surroundings completely.

15+ hours of travel ahead.

clotheslines hanging in the sun.

my sunbathing balcony.

fresh apples and cinnamon oatmeal
beautiful candle given to me from the sweetest most beautiful Greek friend I have, Maria.
Sweet Dimitria, another beautiful Greek friend on the island’s gift to me.

xxx Hannah

6 Comments Add yours

  1. muma says:

    I really enjoyed this!

  2. Chloe says:

    I am sooo envious of you right now… Happy you are back and enjoying part 2!

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      Thanks, girl! It’s even better this time around. Hope all is well with you πŸ™‚

  3. Donna says:

    I look at your balcony and can actually feel the air on my face….I do wish I were there, its a missed mystical place…I look forward to reading you blog, its my escape!!
    Love you

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      Love your comment, come feel the air for real! It’s breezy and beautiful this month and the island is calling for you! xoxo!

  4. I saw the picture above and Ξ™ dont know why, I was so moved. It is the picture with the little candle I gave you !A gift -sth sooo small and minus, but with love, and you appreciate it…you open your heart and took it! I am not surprised by you…you know that love is everywhere ,all around us! You know how to spot this little things that they will fill your heart with light, heal it, even for a small period of time…so lets do that Hanna! Lets continue to search and appreciate all this little things that will fill us with love, light and strength to continue our unpredictable life journey ! Love you!

Leave a Reply

