Hot Days in Delos & Mykonos, Paros by Night.

There is something about this island at night that is incomparable to all else. As the sun sets and I watch it from my balcony fall below the horizon of white-washed rooftops, outlining the clothes hanging from lines in reddish orange, I wait for the night to take over Paros.. and a whole new world seems to be created. The hills, monasteries up high in the mountains, tavernas, and the Aegean all develop a sparkle under the light of the moon that is so captivating that I have to stop myself from being mesmerized until sunrise.

Sitting on a pier with our toes in the water.

I asked one of the girls who goes to school with me here, Kearstin, if she wanted to go on a night hike/exploration of Paros and she was more than willing! (Nothing like finding someone to share a love of adventures with). We decided to leave everything at home except a bottle of water and a little purse to hold my camera. We walked along the waters edge where the rocky shore divides the tavernas from the sea all the way up to the windmill overlooking Paroikia. It was gorgeous. We even stumbled upon a little staircase leading down to the sea where we found an old church that I’m not sure whether or not is still in use or not. Also, let me not forget to add that we had to flee as fast as we could once we heard yelling in Greek from a little boy followed by rocks being thrown directly at us. It happened. I still don’t know why.

Up by the windmill.
My fellow adventurer, Kearstin!
exploring.
Found church.
Market street in Paroikia.
What better way to end a night hike than with a night out?
Kearstin & me at Saloon D’or

Following that, we took our first off-island excursion to Delos and Mykonos. I have been to both, so I wanted to try something different this time around and ended up climbing to the top of the highest mountain overlooking the Aegean and Mykonos in the distance. There were hundreds of little stacked rock formations that made me feel as if I were walking on the moon once I’d reached the top.

Emily, Kearstin, and Me on the Ferry
Lindsay, Me, and Frank climbing the mountain.
Made it!
view from the top.

We took the ferry later in the day over to Mykonos, where by that time we were all exhausted. Kearstin and I ran off and made our pick of the many cafes on the waterfront where I got the best fruit salad I’ve ever had (hard to come by in Greece)!! And she got pita & tzatiki. We sipped our drinks and ended up talking for hours just enjoying the view of the waves crashing on the shore (Okay, and also all of the beautiful people who go to Mykonos!!!) Seriously.

Mykonos, ahead!

Kearstin sippin’ drinks.

The ferry ride back we found the perfect spot at the front of the boat where we could stretch out and sunbathe. Despite being surrounded by a boat full of loud French tourists, I managed to find peace and relaxation just sailing home in the sunset, Ed Sheeran serenading me all the way back through my headphones.

xxx Hannah

One Comment Add yours

  1. Sweet blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News. Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed
    in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Many thanks

Leave a Reply

