The World’s Greatest Love Letters

I found the greatest book. And I’m not just saying that because ‘greatest’ is in the title.

It’s true.

“Away from you the world is a wilderness in which I stand alone, and without knowing the bliss of unburdening my soul. You have robbed me of more than my soul; you are the one thought of my life. When I am weary of the worries of my profession, when I mistrust the issue, when men disgust me, when I am ready to curse my life, I put my hand on my heart where your portrait lies.Β By what art have you learnt how to captivate all my faculties, to concentrate in yourself my spiritual existence–it is witchery, dear love, which will end only with me.”

(Excerpt from a letter written by Napoleon Bonaparte to his wife, Josephine, 1776)

IMG_6381
pencil sketch.

IMG_6377

IMG_6380

image_1363039760130632

xxx hannah jane.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    “By what art have you learnt how to captivate all my faculties, to concentrate in yourself my spiritual existence–it is witchery, dear love, which will end only with me”

    I love that! So beautiful. One can only dream of men these days who would be brave enough to write a poem without being of the fluffy sort. Haha. Beautiful.

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      Yes, exactly! They still exist… I know it!

  2. shadowphoenix0 says:

    Just wanted to say that, You are TOTALLY Awesome. :O . TOTALLY. \Big Fan/

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      Well, you just made my day. THANK YOU πŸ˜€

  3. Is this the same book that Carrie Bradshaw was reading in bed with Big and then he ended up copying them all and emailing them to her? I keep promising myself I am going to get that and read it cover to cover! Nice sketch πŸ˜‰

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      Someone else mentioned that and I looked it up but no, it’s slightly different. That was a fictitious book and the one they read together isn’t in mine. I do love that movie though πŸ˜€

  4. How positively wonderful to know of this book! The sketches are fabulous and remind me of the scene from As Good As It Gets when Helen Hunt poses by the tub.

Leave a Reply

