‘Being Crazy Maybe is Not So Bad’

I am in my last semester of college.

A private college.

And I don’t have a job.

And I paint faster than I am able to get my hands on canvas.

Hence, why I made the switch to sketching.

But there comes a time when one has an unstoppable, uncontrollable, unexplainable urge to paint

and I know if I don’t find something QUICK then in an hour all 4 walls of my rented studio apartment will be covered.

(needless to say, my landlord is not the free-spirit type)

So instead,

I use cardboard.

IMG_6434

went at this in abt 45 minutes.
went at this in abt 45 minutes.
my apartment/art studio/mess
my apartment/art studio/mess

“there was something about
that city, though
it didn’t let me feel guilty
that I had no feeling for the
things so many others
needed.
it let me alone.

sitting up in my bed
the lights out,
hearing the outside
sounds,
lifting my cheap
bottle of wine,
letting the warmth of
the grape
enter
me
as I heard the rats
moving about the
room,
I preferred them
to
humans.

being lost,
being crazy maybe
is not so bad
if you can be
that way
undisturbed.

[Excerpt from YOUNG IN NEW ORLEANS- BUKOWSKI]

 

xxx hannah jane.

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Your artwork is beautiful! I love the mix of colors.

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      Thank you so much! I use what I have and hope it all works πŸ™‚

  2. segmation says:

    Hi Hannah,
    Your artwork is wonderful. Keep it up and I bet someday you will be famous and laugh at these days, right?

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      wow, wouldn’t that be the life. πŸ˜‰ haha thank you so much, and thank you for the encouragement!

      1. hannahjane21 says:

        I’ll have my people call your people… πŸ˜‰

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      thank you, thank you!

  3. timhards says:

    Hi Hannah. Thanks for writing your blog and for sharing your art. I’ve just read a few of your posts so far, and really like what you’re doing.

    In this post, I like how you’ve shown your self-portrait against the colours of the vase of flowers. It is nice to see it in context as it brings the work to life. I agree with The Siren’s Tale – the mix of colours is wonderful. I may have to reconsider how I display my drawings on my blog!

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      Thank you so much. I didn’t even intentionally include the vase, my apartment is just so filled with art that’s the only place I could stick it and then it seemed quite harmonious. I’m glad you liked it. Your sketches are great, can’t wait to see more πŸ™‚

  4. meg says:

    You’re like me.. painting right on the floor in the living room! Ps live your work. Is cardboard solid enough for paint? Doesn’t it get flimsy when wet? I am a garbage digger, meaning when I see plywood or wood panelling sheets, I toss them in the trunk. I have stacks now for spur of the moment urges πŸ™‚

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      It’s feels kind of wild to just throw back my rug and paint in the living room. At least that’s what I tell myself.. I have no choice really, I live in a studio apartment πŸ˜‰ It’s actually more of a poster board… and it worked OK it wasn’t flimsy but I just prefer canvas always. My brother told me he recently bought a bunch of huge pieces of thin wood sheets at Home Depot for me to paint on, so we will see how that turns out. I’m up for trying anything! And it seems you are the same way, I love it! Bring out the cardboard, I want to see some art! πŸ™‚

  5. ketigjipali says:

    I love the painting!

  6. HI, thank you very much for following! Your artwork is fabulous. Your unique blog really expresses your artistic and adventurous spirit. I’ve been enjoying the photos of your travels. What an exciting life.
    “Seize the day.”

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      What a lovely comment. Thank you so much! It is an exciting life, that’s for sure. ❀

Leave a Reply

