What’s Hidden Beneath Art.

IMG_6529

I looked at the reflection of my collarbone in the mirror,

and didn’t stop there.

I look at the faint blue rivers that branch out and flow

in a current beneath thin skin.

pale skin,

I am so transparent.

I think,

If I were to cut across the sheets of tissue paper,

what would come out?

Eraser rubbings from unfinished sketches

or empty white pages in a lost journal?

I think beneath the soil of one of those thin rivers

would have to be the love I’ve yet to have.

Buried deep next to reconciliation

and unfulfilled promises.

I’d like to paint my skin with thick colors,

conceal the veins and keep the what-ifs under a layer;

a safe keeping,

hidden beneath art.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. kittymobile says:

    and didn’t stop there is a very powerful line. I’m wondering if the poem would have a greater impact if the tense changing to present tense after that line?

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      you know what? I actually played around with that and I’m glad you said something, you sold me. thank you for the input.

      1. kittymobile says:

        No problem at all πŸ™‚ glad I could help.

  2. Antony Lee Broad says:

    Deep. So very deep. Love it πŸ™‚

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      Sometimes you just gotta go there. Haha, Thank you for reading!!

  3. segmation says:

    So deep and hidden! Thanks for sharing and stopping by my blog as well!

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      No, Thank YOU πŸ˜€

  4. That’s gorgeous. Only just found your blog… but love it… keep it up!

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      thank you so much, I’m glad you found me!

Leave a Reply

