Between Sun And Geography

“When I returned from so many journeys,
I stayed suspended and green
between sun and geography –
I saw how wings worked,
how perfumes are transmitted
by feathery telegraph,
and from above I saw the path,
the springs and the roof tiles,
the fishermen at their trades,
the trousers of the foam;
I saw it all from my green sky.
I had no more alphabet
than the swallows in their courses,
the tiny, shining water
of the small bird on fire
which dances out of the pollen.”
[Excerpt from BIRD.Neruda]

I’ve gone from a year of non-stop going,

moving,

reaching

to..

a plateau,

in which I’ve been forced to unwind.

And think

mostly about the last year,

and how amazing it has been.

And when I spend too much time thinking

my mind wanders

and I ask myself,

‘what next?’

So as anticipated,

I am craving

travel.

I look at my closet and see clothes hanging

rather than thrown into a suitcase.

And I see my passport peeking out

in my bookshelf,

begging to be stamped.

Unused luggage set,

yet to be dragged through airports, planes, taxis, ferries, and cobblestone.

Ah,

cobblestone.

So as of now,

my next trip is officially in the works.

Greece…

We will meet again soon,

My love.

.IMG_7172

the best grad present, thank you mom :)

xx hannah jane.

28 Comments Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    “my next trip is officially in the works…” DO TELL! 😉

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      Greece, of course!

      1. Hannah! That was my comment ^
        Don’t know why it came out as anonymous, lol. And we must catch up! xoxox

      2. hannahjane21 says:

        Vanessa, I’m really glad you said that. I saw ‘anonymous’ and I was running a list of ex-boyfriends through my head who would secretly want to know where I’m going. Relief! Love you!

  2. octavia02 says:

    Hannah Jane – I nominated you for a Leibster Award.
    All the questions etc are on my page. Just letting you know. 🙂

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      You are so sweet! Thank you, thank you! 🙂

      1. octavia02 says:

        No pressure to do it – it’s a lot of work but I figure the more people who know you’re out there the better for them 🙂
        I hope you’re enjoying life as a new graduate!

      2. hannahjane21 says:

        haha you’re right about that, it is a lot of work! I’ve gotten nominated before…eventually I will get around to doing one, but when I have to come up with lists about myself I usually just draw a blank! I loved reading yours though and flattered to be on it 🙂 Thank you again!

      3. octavia02 says:

        You’re very welcome. 🙂

  3. timhards says:

    Ever so envious… I’d love to go back. First time I was over there, holidaying with my wife, we stayed on the tiny island of Aegina. It is close to Athens, day-trippable by Athenians. Within an hour of arriving I couldn’t wait to explore and ended up walking through the centre of the island through to the other side, and made my way back around the edge. 3-4 hours and I didn’t really notice. So beautiful. And I had never seen clearer water – it was almost invisible!

    Rhodes is something special. The old Rhodes Town is magnificent. You definitely should check it out if you haven’t already.

    Next time we go there, I think we’ll stay in Crete as there’s a lot of history there (as everywhere).

    Can’t wait to see your reports from your travel! Do you know when you’re going? Oh, and please keep up your painting, I’d like to see more 🙂

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      I love that you walked the entire island. When I walked from Fira to Oia in Santorini I felt on top the of the world. Such a good experience that way. I surprisingly haven’t been to any of the islands you’re talking about! Aegina sounds right up my alley, I’ve been wanting to explore Rhodes and of course Crete. But the ferry is such a long one to get out there that once I get to Paros I’m always so euphoric it’s hard for me to leave!!
      Right now I’m planning on flying into Athens and then going directly to Paros (drawn there always). I will probably go back to Naxos, and…
      what do I know, I tend to just go where I’m pulled when it’s possible! 🙂 Thanks for the info, I love travel stories!

  4. bgbowers says:

    Hi Hannah, marvellous blog 🙂 I totally relate to the sentiment of “craving to travel”. I’m experiencing that sentiment right now… And Greece, oh my, I have always longed to visit Greece. It’s ancient beauty is arresting. Looking forward to reading more 🙂

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      Thank you so much. Please go! I wish for everyone to experience that magnitude of beauty- you will be changed! Thanks for reading.

  5. Greece is beautiful- I was there last August in Naxos, Crete, Santorini and Athens. Each had something unique to offer and it was an amazing trip! Make sure to do a donkey ride!

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      Naxos is wonderful. I’m glad you got to experience Greece too! The donkeys are my favorite, Santorini wouldn’t be the same without a donkey ride!

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      Thank you 😀

  6. really…”When I returned from so many journeys,
    I stayed suspended and green
    between sun and geography…” wow! wordless!

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      isn’t that so gorgeous!? Neruda is everything.

      1. one of my favorites; to use that as your epigraph is so fitting. Wonderful experience to read this, must peruse more.

      2. hannahjane21 says:

        I love meeting people who appreciate him as much as I do! I always seem to find poetry of his that perfectly reflects how I feel. I guess that’s why poetry is written in the first place 🙂

      3. now there is a soul after my own imagination; it is written to bridge what we reach for…thank you for making a new bridge.

  7. Brian Hughes says:

    You should come to Fleetwood. We’ve got plenty of cobbles here. They’re a bit treacherous in winter though…and a bit numbing if you’re riding a bike.

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      Fleetwood? Where is that. I do love me some cobblestone 😛

      1. Brian Hughes says:

        The corner of Morecambe Bay in Lancashire, north west England.

  8. Beautiful poem! I’m a huge fan of his but have never encountered this piece before. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      I’m glad I could share it with you!

  9. Neruda writes in the same vein as Gabriel Garcia Marquez, often looking at life and scenes from inside of an outside viewpoint, a well-defined viewpoint.

Leave a Reply

