23.

December 21st was my 23rd birthday.

But more importantly,

My first birthday in Roma!

It all started with a flower delivery…

1507702_10202232628764892_1436508781_n

And ended with a LOT of italian sweets!

IMG_2578

The hot chocolate in Italy is pure, melted chocolate. It’s so thick & strong that even the biggest chocolate lover (me!) can have trouble finishing more than this little glass (I usually hate when people say that, but this time it’s actually true!)

Drinking a steaming cup of ‘cioccolata calda’ while walking the Β chilly streets with the Christmas Lights twinkling above = pure EUPHORIA.

IMG_2641

What I was lacking in birthday candle wishes was made up for at the Fontana di Trevi where I got to make the ultimate birthday wish.

Living in Italy at 23. Working, living, exploring — hard to find much more to wish for.

IMG_2637

Just that the good times & adventures keep on coming!

IMG_2583

And then there was POMPI.

Pompi Cafe is known for some of the best Tiramisu in Rome.

It took a while to find it, but when we did…

IMG_2586

It was perfect.

Hazlenut Tiramisu & Pistacchio

IMG_2592

And just when I thought it couldn’t get better–

A new Cannoli shop was having their grand opening & offering free aperitivo and tastings.

Would ruin the birthday spirit to say no to that…

IMG_2600

IMG_2599

IMG_2598

Twas a sweet birthday in this crazy city.

So I ended the day with some wine & relaxation…

(And a birthday present to myself!)

IMG_2645

IMG_2300

“Live the full life of the mind, exhilarated by new ideas, intoxicated by the romance of the unusual.” [hemingway]

xxx hannah jane.

18 Comments Add yours

  1. johncoyote says:

    A delayed Happy birthday. You are a lucky young lady. To spend a birthday in one of the great cities.

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      Thanks so much!! I try & remind myself every day πŸ™‚

  2. Anonymous says:

    Fast forward to your 83rd birthday…I wonder how many international birthdays you will have under your belt!

    1. Anonymous says:

      this is Vanessa, by the way! Idk why that posted as anonymous! xoxo

  3. Loved reading about your birthday adventure! I hope you enjoyed every minute. Thanks for visiting my blog today :). Looking forward to reading more of your posts

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      I did, I did. Thanks so much for reading πŸ™‚

  4. Birthday on 21st, posted on 22nd, turned 23. It can’t be a coincidence, right…?

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      and here I am replying on the 24th.. πŸ™‚ love it.

  5. foodnowyes says:

    Happy Belated Birthday! Mmmm, those sweets look amazing.

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      Thanks so much, trust me they were :)!!!

  6. What a lovely post, and a beautiful blog! A belated happy birthday to you! x

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      i’m glad you found me. ❀

  7. shadowphoenix0 says:

    I know it’s very late.. But a belated happy Birthday to you, Hannah! Cheers!

    1. hannahjane21 says:

      thank you!! πŸ™‚

      1. shadowphoenix0 says:

        Your blog, travels and adventures inspired me s much that I got an opportunity to study in Barcelona, and took it without any second thoughts. Thank you for helping me!

      2. hannahjane21 says:

        Oh my GOD! That’s AMAZING!! Congratulations!! What are you studying? When? So excited for you!

      3. shadowphoenix0 says:

        Thanks! I’ll be joining in three weeks. And engineering.

  8. genndelille says:

    Everything looks so fantastic!!!

Leave a Reply

